The Time Chair

I have stories to tell you.  Hence why I started this bloggy blog.  But I am finding it hard to choose which ones to tell first.  I started with my tattoo story because it shows you what a Bad Ass wannabe I am…while at the same time, hopefully showing you that I WILL do stuff.  I WILL commit.

So where do I go now…hmmmm….

My other goal here is to sit and write EVERY. SINGLE. DAY. and then hit publish.  No scheduled posts.  Just write and run.

I have no idea what that is going to produce.  Could be a jumble of nonsensical words (um, this post?) or it could be gold, Jerry! (Seinfeld reference?  no? you’re killing me).

Anyway, I was sitting outside yesterday.  We have a deck with a couple Adirondack chairs and a lounge chair. This is pretty much my favorite place in/around our whole house.  It’s my spot.

So I was sitting in one of the chairs with my book.  It was warm, there was a breeze, and I leaned my head back and closed my eyes.

Time is a weird thing.  When I am outside with my eyes closed, I could be 15 again.  I could be at my parents’ house again.  I could be on the dock again.  The sun on my face and the breeze across my skin?  Is timeless.  It’s felt the same to me my whole life.

But then I open my eyes and I am on a deck to a house that I own with a husband.  I have a kid inside that house who is napping in a nursery I helped prepare for him.

I have a career. I have debt.  I have responsibilities that I don’t even really understand all the way.

I am an adult.

And yet…

I closed my eyes again because sometimes?  I don’t feel like being in this time.  The adult that I am.

About ksluiter

Just a small town girl...wait no, that is a Journey song. Although I do live in a small town. I am a wife, a mother, a teacher, and a writer. We have joys and we have struggles. Just like you.
This entry was posted in being an adult is really not that great, being free, writing that goes no where. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

